Amari and the Night Brothers

I was lucky enough to request and receive a proof copy of this from the publishers in exchange for an honest review. All views and opinions are my own.

Amari and the Night Brothers by B. B. Alston, cover art by Brittany Jackson, published by Egmont

Oh my god. This book.

I was sent a proof of this aaaaages ago, but the reading I had to do for work took over so I’ve only just read it and can’t believe I waited so long!

Amari’s brother, Quinton, is missing. People are starting to presume he’s dead and police are implying he got mixed up in the wrong crowds and some shady situations (thanks to their neighborhood and his black skin).

But Amari knows her brother wouldn’t be involved in anything like that and she isn’t ready to give up hope. So, when a mysterious suitcase appears for her, seemingly from her brother, she sets out on a quest to uncover the truth and find her brother.

And it’s quite an extraordinary quest, as Amari finds herself a trainee at the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs where it seems her brother not only worked but excelled. But no one here seems to know where he is either…

This is a story it’s hard to do justice to. It’s had many a comparison already to Harry Potter and Nevermoor, and I can definitely see why, and it certainly captures that sane sense of magic, excitement and the extraordinary. But it’s very much its own thing too and feels really unique and exhilarating.

The world-building is incredible. The sheer imagination and creativity in making the Bureau with all its weird and wonderful places and people is outstanding.

The characters are great. I really got behind Amari and Elsie. I loved Magnus (he is definitely going to be a favourite in this series for me, so BB Alston if you’re reading this – please keep him safe!!) and his partner Fiona.

Director Van Helsing and his daughter Lara were a rage-inducing mirror of the discrimination and poor treatment Amari is used to in the non Supernatural world, and this is a really clever and effective way to highlight inequality and prejudice without it feeling forced or worthy.

Indeed, themes of racism and classism run through the book but are so well threaded through the story, so integral to it and well-written that it never feels like a book that’s about that, despite it being a key theme that should give readers pause to consider our own society on many occasions.

There’s also the villain of the piece, Moreau, who’s a brilliant baddie and I think we’ve got some really excitement to look forward to moving forwards in the series.

And speaking of excitement, the action here is fast-paced and the plot full of tension and uncertainty – just when you think you’ve got something sussed, something else will turn that on its head! And oh, the final twists!!

This is definitely going to be one of my books of the year and a new favourite series. I cannot wait for book two – just eleven months to go…!

9 thoughts on “Amari and the Night Brothers

Add yours

  1. I’m really looking forward to getting around to this one. I got so excited when everyone was posting about it last month but I just have no idea when I am going to squeeze it in. So glad you enjoyed it x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amarillo 😂 Sorry! Autocorrect is a bugger, but that did make me chuckle!
      Yeah, I’m not getting too excited about the film but if they pull it off I am going to be all over it! Either way book two can’t come quickly enough!

      Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑