Review – The Map of Leaves

I was lucky enough to be sent a copy of this in exchange for an honest review, but have since bought my own finished copy too. All views and opinions are my own.

The Map of Leaves by Yarrow Townsend, artwork by Marie-Alice Harel , published by Chicken House

Many of you will know how much I love a nature-themed book and this didn’t disappoint!

As soon as I met Orla I’m the opening chapter – solitary, defiant, self-sufficient and distrustful, her closest companions her beloved horse and the plethora of plants she tends lovingly in her garden – I was firmly on her side and knew instantly this was very much a book I’d love.

Her connection with the plants (the way they spoke to her and each had their own personalities totally won over this ‘The Herbs’ fan!); the chapter headers detailing different plants, their properties and uses; and Orla’s mum’s notebook/sketchbook (which had me yearning to return to my own sketchbooks and journals, and which I would absolutely LOVE to see as a companion book to the story itself!) – all of these only cemented this story’s place in my heart.

And all this before we’ve even really got going!

A mysterious illness is sweeping the town and plants are turning black, but are they the cause of the illness as Lord claims? Or are they suffering too? And if so, from what?

With her beloved plants under threat, her mum’s name to clear and her loyal horse to rescue, Orla begrudgingly teams up with Idris and Ariana to find out what’s really causing the illness and how to cure it.

This is a wonderful adventure with stolen boats, camps in the woods, tyrannical villains, secret greenhouses and river rapids. There’s plenty of mystery as the almost-friends search for a cure, with intriguing clues to capture the imagination and I loved that Idris and Orla disagreed on where to go to solve it, which really added to the tension.

And I loved the way the relationship between the three children developed and blossomed during the course of the book as Orla in particular learns to open up and trust a little more.

The ending is brilliant. No spoilers, so I’ll keep it brief but it’s a fitting answer to the puzzle which only highlights the environmental feel of the book more, sadly mirroring some all too real problems.

Overall, this is an exciting mystery adventure, full of nature and friendship and I can’t wait for more from Yarrow Townsend.

One thought on “Review – The Map of Leaves

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑